A Digital Tonnage of Reading

Man, today is going to be kickass. How do I know, you ask? Because there is just so much goddamn possibility in a Monday, you know? Enough with the pleasantries. Let’s get to the good stuff.

I mentioned I’ve been reading–on long train rides for work, or just before bed, I’ve been trying to make my way through this list of slightly more than 100 fantastic pieces of journalism cultivated by inestimable

If (slightly more than) 100 articles feels a bit overwhelming, why not start with this worthy list of 17 essential short stories written by women? Oh god. Even just seeing the cover for Shirley Jackson’s The Lottery makes me shiver with teenage anxiety. Jhumpa Lahiri’s piece from Interpreter of Maladies was one of the first truly grown up things I remember reading. You’re welcome.

On a lighter note: I basically kind of hated Tumblr when it first came out. It didn’t really feel substantive, you know? But I can really get behind the fact that it’s a free platform of which my nonprofit friends can take serious advantage. Tumblr put together a whole mess of tips about “Tumbling for Good,” and that’s something I can get behind.

Food (for Thought)

God, this pear and nutella bread from Indigo Scones makes me weep.

Nutella Pear Bread | Indigo Scones

Standard

Leave a Reply

