Earn Your Sleep Image by Jason Vandenberg

The Business of Careers

Earn Your Sleep by Jason Vandenberg

Do you remember where you were in your career just five years ago? If you’re among my generation/cohort, it wasn’t such a good place. You were probably someone’s assistant, or an intern, or maybe just starting to figure out that very few people have careers that are as decidedly defined as the ones we imagined when we were kids.

But you know what? You’ve come a long way. And if you haven’t, well, it’s time to do something about then, isn’t it?

Work has been on my brain a lot lately. I’m lucky to be in a job that I’m absolutely mad about, but the recession walloped a good many of us. A whole generation of baby boomers are retiring and that is going to mean a lot of things for us in the working class. And what about the next generation? I had a chance to meet with a few lovely women on the cusp of beginning their careers and I gave them the only advice I could, the only advice I truly wish someone had told me: You’re smart and capable. Be bold in sharing your ideas. Stay humbled by the intelligence peers, colleagues and mentors. Do the thing that scares the shit out of you. 

You’re smart and capable. Be bold in sharing your ideas. Stay humbled by the intelligence peers, colleagues and mentors. Do the thing that scares the shit out of you. 

I said that. At my university. In front of teachers. They may not invite me back, ya’ll.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

